CEBS Committees for August 2017-July 2018

Sr. No.Committee NameCoordinator
1 Academic Programme Committee Dr. Ameeya Bhagwat
2 Anti-Ragging Committee Dr. Neeraj Agarwal
3 Brochure Committee Dr. Bhushan Paradkar
4 Colloquium Committee Dr. P. Brijesh
5 Disciplinary Committee Prof. Manohar Nyayate
6 Educational Cell Prof. Vijay Singh
7 Ethics Committee Prof. Swapan Ghosh
8 Fees and Charges Committee Dr. Jayant Kayarkar
9 Finance Committee Dr. Jayant Kayarkar
10 Infrastructure Task Force Committee Dr. Jacinta D’Souza
11 Mess Committee Dr. Avinash Kale
12 NEST Cell Dr. Ameeya Bhagwat
13 Networking & Website Committee Dr. Manojendu Choudhury
14 Purchase Committee Dr. Neeraj Agarwal
15 Recruitment Committee Prof. S. G. Dani
16 RTI Cell Dr. Jacinta D’Souza (APIO)
17 Scientific and Information Resources Centre (SIRC) Committee Dr. Sujit Tandel
18 Security and Safety Committee Dr. Manu Lopus
19 Standing Grievance Committee Dr. Vijay Khole, GC Member
20 Students Affairs Committee Dr. Neeraj Agarwal
21 Women’s Cell Dr. Jacinta D’Souza

Administrative and Technical Staff

K P Balakrishnan

Mr. K. P. Balakrishnan


Kishore Menon

Mr. Kishore Menon

Advisor, CBS


Dr. Raja Agarkar

Medical Advisor


Mr. Milind Ashrit

Consultant (Finance)

Jayant Kayarkar

J.N. Kayarkar


Deepak Hate

Mr. Deepak P. Hate

Consultant (Purchase)

Swati Khatal-Kolekar

Mrs. Swati Kolekar

Office Superintendent



Ms. Vaishali M. Kedar

Office Superintendent



Ms. Rupali Shringare

Office Superintendent



Ms. Neha Dandekar

Office Superintendent



Mr. Kanak Gawde

Scientific Assistant



Ms. Sonali Shiriskar

Scientific Assistant



Mr. Prashant Gurav

Systems Assistant


Mr. Amit Shetkar

Library Attendant


Ms. Veena Naik

Office Assistant

(Purchae & Store)


Mr. Nitesh Kadam

Hostel Assistant


Ms. Divya Sukumaran

Office Assistant

(Multi skill)


Mr. Abhay Bakalkar


(Nuclear Physics & Computer Laboratory)


Mr. Maruti Khot

Office Attendant


Mr. Ram M. Soure

Lab Attendant (Physics)

Dinesh Desai

Mr. Dinesh B. Desai

Lab Attendant (Physics)


Mr. Santosh Sood

Lab Attendant (Biology)


Mr. Rupesh Kamtekar

Lab Attendant (Chemistry)


Mr. Bhushan Deshpande



Mr. Maharajan Thevar

Library Attendant


Mr. Abhijeet Ghag



Pranit Gurav

Mr. Pranit Gurav

Lab Assistant


Sandesh Kolambe

Mr. Sandesh Kolambe

Lab Attendant


Shankar Kadam

Mr. Shankar Kadam

Library Attendant


Mr. Harish Hira Singh

Lab Attendant (Biology)

Academic Board

A panel of highly eminent and renowned dignitaries working in tandem for achieving the goals of the organization. The Academic Council is responsible for laying down, regulating, and maintaining the standards of teaching, research, extension and examinations in the University.

  • Prof. M. S. Raghunathan, IIT B - Chair
  • Dr. S. K. Apte, BARC
  • Prof. S.M. Chitre, CEBS
  • Prof. Deepak Dhar, TIFR
  • Prof. P. Dongre, UoM
  • Prof. Dipan Ghosh, IIT B
  • Dr. Swapan Ghosh, BARC
  • Prof. Anil Karnik, UoM
  • Prof. Arvind Kumar, CEBS
  • Prof. J. Maharana, IOP
  • Prof. Anuradha Misra, UoM
  • Prof. N. Mukunda, IASC
  • Prof. J. V. Narlikar, IUCAA
  • Dr. R.R. Puri, IIT Gandhinagr
  • Prof. A. K. Srivastava, UoM
  • Prof. G.D. Yadav, ICT
  • Dr. V. K Jain, Director, CEBS
  • HOD of Computer Science, UoM - Special invitee


Governing Council

The Governing Council is the supreme decision making body of CBS, and consists of the following members:

  • Dr. Sekhar Basu, Chairman, AEC and Secretary, DAE – Chairman (ex-officio)

  • Vice Chancellor, University of Mumbai, Co – Chairman (ex-officio)

  • Pro-Vice Chancellor, University of Mumbai – Member (ex-officio)

  • Dr. Anil Kakodkar – Former Chairman, AEC - Member

  • Dr. Vijay Khole – Former Vice Chancellor, UoM - Member

  • Dr. K.N. Vyas, Director, BARC – Member (ex-officio)

  • Prof. Sandip Trivedi, Director, TIFR – Member (ex-officio)

  • Dr. Devang Khakhar , Director, IIT Bombay – Member (ex-officio)

  • Mr. S. Mervin Alexander, JS (A&A), DAE (In-charge of CEBS) – Member (ex-officio)

  • Mr. R.A. Rajeev, JS(Finance), DAE – Member (ex-officio)

  • Mr. A.A. Phalnikar, Finance & Accounts Officer, UoM (ex-officio)

  • Dr. V. K. Jain, Director, CBS - Member Secretary (ex-officio)

  • Registrar, CEBS, Non-Member Secretary




UM-DAE Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences
Health Centre, University of Mumbai,
Vidyanagari Campus, Kalina, Santacruz (East), Mumbai 400098, India.
Phone: 91-22-26524983
Fax: 91-22-26524982
General Enquiries: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Website Related: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About Us

CBS was set up by the Department of Atomic Energy and the University of Mumbai in 2007. CBS offers a 5 year integrated MSc program in Basic Sciences, with undergraduate teaching embedded in a postgraduate and research environment, for students who have completed 10+2 schooling or its equivalent.