Director: Ramakrishna V. Hosur

Ramkrishan Hosur

Basic Information:

Born, 1953; B. Sc from Karnatak University; M. Sc (Chemistry) from IIT-Bombay; Ph. D from TIFR (Mumbai university); Post-doc at ETH Zurich (Prof. Kurt Wuthrich, NL); Employed at TIFR since 1978, currently, Senior Professor.


Pioneered research in biomolecular NMR, molecular biophysics, biophysical chemistry. Published over 150 research articles in journals; Written and Edited books.; Taught  courses at TIFR, IIT-Bombay, IIT-Roorkee on NMR,  mathematics, biophysics; Guided 20 Ph. D students.

Key Contributions:

Discovered new structural motifs in quadruplex DNA structures: A-tetrad, T-tetrad, C-tetrad. • Developed new multidimensional NMR pulse sequences. • Elucidated the folding hierarchy in HIV-1 protease.  • Developed ‘scaling techniques’ for sensitivity and resolution enhancement. • Suggested a pH switch mechanism for cargo trafficking by DLC8 protein inside living cells. • Elucidated the native state energy landscape, and structural and dynamic characteristics of SUMO-1 protein along the equilibrium folding pathways;  demonstrated that the native contacts do not progress monotonously. • Elucidated by NMR the self-association pathway of GED domain of dynamin into a large >5 MDa assembly.


Convener, National Facility for high field NMR; Member of sectional committees of INSA, Indian Academy of Sciences AND NATIONAL Academy of Sciences; DST, CSIR and DBT expert committees; Chair, IUPAB national committee of INSA (2008-2011); council member, INSA (2008-2010); RC member, IICB, Kolkata; President, Indian Biophysical Society; President, new biology section of Indian Science Congress, 2005; President, National Magnetic Resonance Society (NMRS) (2009-11); Council Member, Centre for Biomedical Research, Lucknow; Member, Council of International Conference on Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems (2004-2014)

Academy Fellowships:

Indian Academy of Sciences (1994); National Academy of Sciences (1997); Indian National Science Academy (1995); The World Academy of Sciences (2008)


  • Padma Shri 2014
  • JC Bose Fellowship (2007-2012)
  • Jagdish Shankar lecture (2003)
  • R. K. Asundi lecture (1998)
  • 3rd annual award of society for cancer research (1998)
  • B. M. Birla award (1992)
  • B. D. Tilak lecture (1989)
  • INSA young scientist (1984)
  • BRUKER young scientist (1983)


UM-DAE Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences
Health Centre, University of Mumbai,
Vidyanagari Campus, Kalina, Santacruz (East), Mumbai 400098, India.
Phone: 91-22-26524983
Fax: 91-22-26524982
General Enquiries: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Website Related: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About Us

CBS was set up by the Department of Atomic Energy and the University of Mumbai in 2007. CBS offers a 5 year integrated MSc program in Basic Sciences, with undergraduate teaching embedded in a postgraduate and research environment, for students who have completed 10+2 schooling or its equivalent.